Take part in the Great British Dog Walk 2017

Calling all dog-lovers! The Great British Dog Walk is taking place between March and June 2017, and aims to raise funds to train hearing dogs.

16th March 2017
Hearing Dogs for Deaf People

Featuring 20 countryside walks, around 4,000 adults and over 500 dogs of all shapes and sizes are expected to take part in this year’s nationwide events.

There will be two different routes to choose from at each venue, many of which include National Trust properties, and is suitable for families with children, independent walkers and organised walking groups.

Hearing dogs alert their owners to important sounds that hearing people often take for granted such as the doorbell, alarm clock and smoke alarm. 

Hearing Dogs for Deaf People Chief Executive Michele Jennings said: “The Charity is celebrating its 35th anniversary this year and is very proud to have had such a positive impact on thousands of lives. But we couldn't have achieved what we have without the help of our wonderful supporters taking part in events such as The Great British Dog Walk and the dedication of all our volunteers."

To sign-up to your nearest Great British Dog Walk and for more information, visit greatbritishdogwalk.org

The Great British Dog Walk 2017 venues are:

 

 

 

Gibside, Gateshead, Tyne & Wear

Sunday 12 March

 

 

Sheffield Park and Garden, East Sussex

 

Saturday 18 March

 

 

Holyrood Park, Edinburgh

 

Sunday 19 March

 

 

Croome Court, Worcester

 

Saturday 25 March

 

 

Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Wakefield

 

Sunday 2 April

 

 

Margam Country Park, Port Talbot

 

Sunday 9 April

 

 

Hughenden Manor, High Wycombe

 

Gisburn Forest, Lancashire

 

Saturday 22 April

 

Saturday 22 April

 

Windsor Great Park, Berkshire

 

Saturday 29 April

 

 

Whitelees Windfarm, Eaglesham, Glasgow

 

Sunday 7 May

 

 

Ickworth Park, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

 

Sunday 7 May

 

 

Lyme Park, Stockport, Cheshire

 

Saturday 13 May

 

 

Ightham Mote, Sevenoaks, Kent

 

Saturday 13 May

 

 

Wimpole Hall, Arrington, Cambridgeshire

 

Sunday 14 May

 

 

Kedleston Hall, Derby

 

Saturday 20 May

 

 

Foxbury Common, Hampshire

 

Sunday 21 May

 

 

Stowe, Buckinghamshire

 

Sunday 4 June

 

 

Haddo House and Country Park, Aberdeenshire

 

Canonteign Falls, Exeter

Saturday 10 June

 

Sunday 11 June

 

 

One further venue/date to be confirmed

Tickets to each event are £10 in advance for adults online at www.greatbritishdogwalk.org or £12 on the day

Image: Hearing Dogs for Deaf People

Get your first 5 issues for just £5 when you subscribe to BBC Countryfile magazine!

Subscribe to BBC Countryfile Magazine today and you can enjoy generous savings from the shop price plus, free UK delivery and discounts off special editions and back issues.

Countryfile Magazine - Current Issue